Beauty Culture

Defining what is beauty to all of us is different and the Beauty Culture exhibit does that by kind of showing the aesthetic of who we are. I saw the exhibit as a way to look from the outside in, like I put my self an a side where I analyzed what I thought was beautiful and amazing to another one where I analyzed things which I thought otherwise. I thought it was interesting to see the reversal of roles  in age with women. Younger girls want to be older and older women want to be younger. They have a huge desire to stay young and be seen as sexy regardless of their age. The photographs reflect a lot of the youth trying to be grasped by the older women and the beauty queen culture with the little girls is beyond crazy. I’ve seen shows and documentaries about little beauty queens and the amount of money and time they invest in their looks and choreographers is amazing. They are basically living breathing dolls, their skin is tanned and hair is done to perfection like a doll, it sets a huge standard for the little girls I would thing once they grow up.

The other thing that I loved were obviously the fashion oriented pieces and I was beyond amazed at the fact that their were pieces from David Lachappelle!! I love his work and his message.  I’ve seen one of his documentaries as well and the most interesting thing is his message of every photograph he creates and the tought process that goes in to it. I also love his work with Amanda Lepore.

                                                             “Ms.Anna don’t like fat people”  1997

 

 

One thought on “Beauty Culture

Leave a Reply

